Cabinet Approves Creation of 31 New Counties, Nakawa Division to Be Split

State Minister for ICT, Peter Ogwang

Cabinet has approved the creation of 31 new counties including carving out a new county in Nakawa in Kampala.

A new constituency will be created out of the existing Nakawa Division in Kampala.

This was revealed by State Minister for ICT, Peter Ogwang as he briefed the media on the resolutions from Monday’s Cabinet sitting.

“Cabinet approved additional 31 counties… As you may be aware, a few weeks ago, Cabinet approved 15 new counties,” Ogwang told reporters in Kampala on Tuesday.

“The Minister of Kampala together with Minister of Justice and Constitutional Affairs will be able to create a constituency out of Nakawa Division”.

Ogwang said the Cabinet decision was informed by the Constitutional provisions that guide the creation of new counties. He cited Article 179 clause 4 of the Constitution which provides for the criteria for alteration of boundaries and creation of administration units.

He said that the criteria required in creating these new units include; Effective administration, the need to bring services closer to the people, the need to improve means of communication, and geographical features.

The others are; population density in the area, wishes of the concerned people, need to streamline administration and the internal emancipation, reduction of marginalization and need to improve planning.

“As far as we are concerned as government, the following have been adhered to and followed by the Minister of Local Government, ” the Minister said.

“All these counties were passed by the respective district councils and some have waited since as far back as 2010”.

“It’s not our wish but a Constitutional wish and the needs of our people”.

He said that the new counties are also in line with Provisions 243 of the Local Government Act.

Ogwang said a Certificate of Financial Implication was issued by the Ministry of Finance which implies that government will be able to sustain their operation.

With Cabinet approval, the Minister of Local Government will now have to present the proposal to Parliament for debate and the House will determine whether or not the new counties take effect.

Below is a list of the new counties approved by Cabinet

Kapir (Ngora)

Batiru (Manafwa)

Kioga North (Amolatar)

Napore West (Karenga)

Bakora East (Napak)

Nwoya East (Nwoya)

Namayingo South (Namayingo)

Elgon North (Bulambuli)

Samia Gugwe South (Busia)

Mawogola West (Sembabule)

Otuke East (Otuke)

Ruhama East (Ntungamo)

Isingiro West (Isingiro)

T’oo county (Bukwo)

Ochero (Kaberamaido)

Soi (Kwen)

Namisindwa (Namisindwa)

Gweri (Soroti)

Pingire (Serere)

Bunghoko central (Mbale)

Aringa East (Yumbe)

Kyaka Central (Kyegegwa)

Ruhinda South (Mitooma)

Bushigai (Bududa)

Gogonyo (Palisa)

Busiki North (Namutumba)

Maruzi North (Apac)

Rwampara East (Rwampara)

Buhaguzi (Kikube)

West Budama North East (Tororo)

Dodoth North (Kabong)

Got Something To Say?

Leave a comment.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *